Data synthesis
Data synthesis overview
Now that you have extracted your data, the next step is to synthesise the data.
Move through the slide deck below to learn about data synthesis. Alternatively, download the PDF document at the bottom of this box.
| The interactive element below requires you to enable cookies in your web browser |
-
Data synthesisThis document is a printable version of the slide deck above.
Forest plot example
If you have conducted a meta-analysis, you can present a summary of each study and your overall findings in a forest plot.
Select the i icons in the image below to learn about each component of a forest plot.
| The interactive element below requires you to enable cookies in your web browser |
Test your knowledge
Test your knowledge about meta-analysis and forest plots in the activity below.
| The interactive element below requires you to enable cookies in your web browser |
Guidelines and standards
- Cochrane Handbook, part 2, chapter 9: Summarising study characteristics and preparing for synthesis
This chapter provides recommendations for health science authors on data synthesis. The relevant MECIR are included. - Cochrane Handbook, chapter 10: Analysing data and undertaking meta-analysisThis chapter provides guidance for authors on when and how to perform a meta analysis. The relevant MECIR are also included.
- Cochrane Handbook, part 2, chapter 12: Synthesising and presenting findings using other methodsThis chapter describes alternatives to the meta-analysis and provides guidance on undertaking these. The relevant MECIR are included.
Items 13a - 13f of the PRISMA 2020 Checklist address synthesis methods and are described further in the Explanation and Elaboration document.
Other standards
- Overview of systematic reviewsSee the overview page (of this guide) for additional guidelines and standards.
Learn more
- Interpreting and understanding meta-analysis graphs: a practical guide (2006)Provides a practical guide for appraising systematic reviews for relevance to clinical practice and interpreting meta-analysis graphs .
- What is a meta-analysis? (CEBI, University of Oxford)Provides addition information about meta-analyses.
- How to read a forest plot (CEBI, University of Oxford)Additional detailed information about how to read a forest plot.
Additional readings:
- Modern meta-analysis review and update of methodologies (2017)Comprehensive details about conducting meta-analyses.
- Meta-synthesis and evidence-based health care - a method for systematic review (2012)ÂThis article describes the process of systematic review of qualitative studies.
- Lessons from comparing narrative synthesis and meta-analysis in a systematic review (2015).Investigates the contribution and implications of narrative synthesis and meta-analysis in a systematic review.
- Speech-language pathologist interventions for communication in moderate-severe dementia: a systematic review (2018)An example of a systematic review without a meta-analysis.