Guides: Systematic Reviews: EndNote

EndNote overview

To prepare for screening, we recommend you export your database search results into EndNote.

For stability and ease of use, we suggest you use EndNote Desktop rather than EndNote Web.

If you are new to the program, start by familiarising yourself with EndNote generally. The Library has a range of resources available to support you.

UniSA EndNote Guide
A step by step guide for getting started with EndNote.
EndNote workshops
Register for upcoming face-to-face or online workshops to learn EndNote.
Installing EndNote
Install EndNote on your own computer (Windows or Mac OS)

Step 1: Build your EndNote library

Organise your references

Create a new EndNote Library (File > New) to use solely for your review.
Create and name the group for each database/source you searched (See example image).
As you search each database, export all results from that database into the matching EndNote group. This will allow you to report the total references found in each.

Screenshot of EndNote Groups and Group Sets

If you plan to deduplicate using EndNote, export records from high quality sources first - as EndNote will send the most recently added records detected as duplicates to the 'Trash', retaining those added first. Databases on Ovid such as MEDLINE are a good place to start, followed by other reputable databases such as CINAHL. Add records from Web of Science and/or Scopus after the key databases with subject headings, and before incomplete/error-prone sources such as Google Scholar.

Exporting references from Ovid Emcare

When exporting from Ovid Emcare, you may be prompted to use an 'Import Filter'. Select the EMCARE (Ovid) filter. If this does not appear in your list, select 'Other Filters' and search for it. If the filter still does not appear, search for it in the EndNote Import Filters page, which lists new and updated filters to download.

To download and install a filter:

Close EndNote
In your browser, select the filter link
Save the file in your filters folder:
- Windows: C:\Program Files\EndNote #\Filters (Where # is the version number for EndNote)
  Mac OS: Applications\EndNote #\Filters (Where # is the version number for EndNote)
- see Folder Locations for more information
Open EndNote - the filter should now be listed

Learn more:

Exporting large numbers of records

Comprehensive searches often require screening thousands of records. Exporting these from databases to a reference manager is not always straightforward.

Here you will find guidance on how to 'batch' export records from various interfaces to EndNote (you may need to adjust for other reference managers).

General tips:

look for options that allow you to export out records with the information you need to help you screen and locate the full text - such as the abstract and digital object identifer. Some batch export options omit key details
always check that the number you export is the number that loads into the reference manager. If some are 'lost' start again with smaller batch sizes

Recommended maximum per export - 1,500

In this example, there are 3,360 results. You would export this in three batches.

Ensure the correct line is selected to Display results - your final set of search results

Type 1-1500 into the Range box and then click Export
Wait for 'null' to disappear and then ensure the Format is set to RIS or EndNote and Fields to Complete Reference. You can ignore Includes. Use RIS for MEDLINE, EndNote and Emcare, and EndNote for PsycInfo

Example of exporting from Ovid with Format: RIS and Fields: Complete Reference

Click the Export button
'Processing' appears, followed by a green 'Citation(s) exported' pop-up box
Open the ris or cgi file and it will load to your open EndNote Library
To avoid confusion, we recommend moving the file to Trash once loaded
Return to the Range box and enter the next range of records e.g. 1501-3000
Repeat the steps above, finishing with the range 3001-3360 for the example above
You should now see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

To batch download records to a reference manager, the easiest way is to send a link to the records to your email (maximum 25,000).

Sign in to MyEBSCO
Ensure you are displaying the set of results you want to export (you may need to access this from Recent activity or Saved)
Click on the drop-down-arrow next to the number of results
Click Export results (Up to 25,000)

The Export results window appears
Enter you email address under Email address
Choose RIS from Select a format if exporting to EndNote (this also works for many other reference managers, such as Zotero). If sent to a University address there may be a delay (e.g. half hour). If you have access to email through another provider it may arrive more quickly
Click Send
The Export requested pop-up screen appears
When the email arrives, click the Download metadata button
Open the ris file with the target EndNote Library open
You should now see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

The best approach for large numbers of results (maximum 20,000 at a time) is Export Results, visible at the top of the results page when signed in to My Research. Key details needed for deduplication and screening tools - such as authors, year, title, abstract, volume, issue and Digital Object Identifier (DOI) - will be included.

If you need or want additional details from records (such as keywords and language) – you will need to use the time consuming approach of adding records to the temporary folder Selected items page by page, and then exporting out in batches of 1,000 or fewer.

The first option is described here.

Ensure you are signed into your My Research via the person icon to the top right-hand-side of the screen (create a personal account with ProQuest if you don't already have one)
Ensure you are displaying the set of results you want to export
Click Export Results from the top of the results screen
Select format: RIS
Include abstracts: Yes
Accept the Terms and Conditions - this automatically saves the search
Click My Research to access this menu and then click Saved searches
Depending on the number of records, your export may still be processing
When available, click the link for Export Results for the relevant search
A ris file will download
Open the ris file with the target EndNote Library open
You should now see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

Records need to be exported in batches of 100. Databases on Informit can have significant numbers of duplicates, even when searching only one database.

Ensure you are displaying the set of results you want to export
From the top or bottom of the page change the Per page option to the maximum permitted, 100
Tick Select All
Click Export Citations (100 items)

Informit export example

Under Download Citation ensure RIS is checked, and then click Download
A ris file will download
Open the ris file with the target EndNote Library open
Repeat for as many pages as needed
You should see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

You can export up to 20,000 records at a time from Scopus.

Ensure you are displaying the set of results you want to export
If your search results are 20,000 or fewer in number, click All and then Select all

Click Export and for EndNote choose RIS or EndNote (RIS)

Choose the options you will need for deduplication, screening, discovery and citation; e.g. most of the Citation information and Bibliographical information, and Abstract - customise to suit your needs
Click Export
Nothing may happen for a moment. Then a pop-up appears: Exporting x documents to RIS in the background
To access your exports, click on your inititals to the far top right-hand-side of the screen and click Exports
Click Download RIS for the relevant search
A ris file will download
Open the ris file with the target EndNote Library open
You should now see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

You can export up to 1,000 records at a time from Web of Science.

Ensure you are displaying the set of results you want to export
Click Export and then EndNote desktop from the menu

Web of Science export - menu selection

Change the selection to Records from 1 to 1000 (and change this range if needed for larger sets of records e.g. 1-1000, 1001-2000, etc.)
Change Record content to Author, Title, Source, Abstract or create your own Custom selection with the details required for deduplication, screening, etc.

Web of Science export example

An Export in progress box appears
A ciw file will download
Open the ciw file with the target EndNote Library open
Repeat for as many sets as needed
You should see the same number of records as in your search results and can add these to the relevant database group in your EndNote Library

Step 2: Back up your EndNote library

It is a good habit to back up your EndNote library. Specifically:

keep at least two of the same back-ups in different locations,
back-up on a regular basis or;
whenever you make significant changes (e.g import from a database).

Create a back-up library

Select File > Compressed Library (.enlx)
Follow the prompts and name the file
(e.g. my_review_backup_29_5_2020.enlx)

Note: .enlx is a zipped file that combines your EndNote library (.enl) and Data folder together, enabling you to restore the file easily.

Learn more:

Backing up and restoring your library

Video Length: 2:15

Step 3 (optional): Deduplicate your EndNote library

Note: Skip this step if you are using Covidence for screening, as Covidence will perform its own deduplication.

Rename your group

Before you deduplicate your references in EndNote, rename your groups by adding the total number of results from each database (see example image), for reporting purposes.

To rename a group:

Right-click on the group
Rename group
Next to the database, add total number
e.g. Cochrane Library (68)

The total number of references will need to be reported in your PRISMA flowchart.

Deduplicate your references

Use EndNote's Find Duplicates function to remove multiple copies of references. (X9: References > Find Duplicates; 20: Library > Find Duplicates).

This will change both:

the number of results displayed next to each group; and
the total number of references in your library.

Note: EndNote can miss duplicates! You should also manually check for them by re-sorting your library by title (select the Title column heading) and deleting any duplicates you see.

Learn more:

Video Length: 1:03

Step 4: Export your EndNote library

Now that your Library is complete, you can export the references within it to commence screening.

Covidence: you can either export all references in one file and specify the sources later, or export the references for each source separately and select the sources on import, for this to appear in the Covidence PRISMA flowchart. Each file must be under 50 MB (this is about 11,000 references from databases on Ovid).

Select All References (located in the Groups pane on the left hand side) OR
Select the file range you want to export (e.g. by clicking on record number 1, then number 11,000 while holding Shift)
Select File > Export

An export window will appear (for simplicity, we suggest saving to the desktop).

Untick Export Selected References
Make the following selections:

If you are screening in:	Save As Type	Output Style
Excel	XML	Tab Delimited
Covidence	Text File (*.txt)	RefMan (RIS) Export

Note: If you cannot see the required Output Style, choose Select Another Style and then search for the Output Style of interest.

Next steps

Learn how to import the file and undertake screening in Covidence.