Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Publishing: Visibility

This guide is designed to assist you with publishing academic research, including finding the right journal, journal impact factors, ERA, open access, publisher and data requirements, questions around copyright and tips from the experts.

Strategies for enhancing the visibility and reach of your research

Make your research outputs open access           Share your research data
Share your work via multiple channels Have a unique identifier for research outputs
Write for search engine optimisation Actively engage with those interested in your work
Set up author profiles and identifiers Track visibility with altmetrics

Major publishers often provide extensive resources detailing:

  • what they do to make your work more visible
  • strategies you can use to improve your work's reach

For example:

Endorsed author profiles and identifiers

Author identifiers

The University encourages its researchers to have three author identifiers - ORCID, Scopus (where available) and ResearcherID (now hosted on Publons). One of the major reasons is author disambiguation - they assist in linking research outputs to the correct author. This reduces administrative burden, improves data accuracy and the discoverability of research outputs.

  • ORCID is independent, community-driven and intended to be overarching. Some publishers and funding bodies have made providing this identifier mandatory
  • Scopus Author ID is automatically generated for authors whose work is indexed in the Scopus database 
  • ResearcherID is hosted on Publons (provided by Clarivate Analytics)

ORCID logo

Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCiD) is a free, internationally recognised, non-profit registry system. It allows you to:

  • generate a unique, persistent identifier to easily distinguish yourself from other researchers
  • list all of your research outputs in one place (via import or manual entry)
  • link to other identifiers including ResearcherID and Scopus Author ID
ORCiD@UniSA

Registering your ORCiD with UniSA simplifies the management of your ORCiD record. It takes two minutes to register and this will then reduce the need to manually update your publications. 

Grant applications and publishing

ORCiDs are increasingly used by funding bodies and journal publishers, and you may be required to supply this by certain organisations.

Scopus logoScopus (provided by Elsevier) is a large multidisciplinary citation database. Elsevier automatically generates Author IDs to distinguish between authors with work indexed in Scopus. The Author profiles linked to Scopus IDs show:

  • all your publications indexed in Scopus
  • citation metrics using Scopus data

If you have work indexed in Scopus, your Scopus Author ID should ideally be:

  • listed in your Academic Staff Activity Report
  • linked from your UniSA homepage
  • integrated with your ORCID

If your Scopus Author ID is missing from your Academic Staff Activity Report or homepage, or you would like assistance to request corrections or integrate with ORCID, contact Ask the Library.

ResearcherID is an author disambiguation and profiling tool provided by Clarivate Analytics. Since April 2019 it has been hosted on Publons.

Publons profiles can show:

  • all your publications indexed in Web of Science
  • citation metrics for publications indexed in Web of Science

ResearcherIDs should ideally be:

  • listed in your Academic Staff Activity Report
  • linked from your UniSA homepage
  • integrated with your ORCID

If your ResearcherID is missing from your Academic Staff Activity Report or homepage, or you would like assistance to request corrections or integrate with ORCID, contact Ask the Library.

UniSA staff homepage

For UniSA staff, your homepage will probably rank highly in search engine results.

UniSA staff homepage author identifier badgesIf you have ORCID, Scopus and Publons (ResearcherID) profiles the badges linking to these should appear in the About Me section. If not, Ask the Library can help!

Log in to update content on your homepage via the cog icon and under About Me > Social Media Links you can optionally add badges for Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, YouTube, Google Scholar and Instagram.

Plan your online presence

Before you create profiles, explore some of those available and consider:
  • how many profiles can you maintain?
  • who you want to reach - other researchers, the public, practitioners?
  • can you list your publications and if so how easy is it to do this?
  • can you upload full text of publications (where copyright permits)?
  • what metrics can you view on engagement with your activity or work - e.g. citations, views?
  • what do you want to achieve - greater exposure for your work, find collaborators, get comments from peers on drafts, participate in online communities, keep up-to-date with the latest publications in a field...?
Why Twitter?

This information network allows you to keep up-to-date through following the 280 character 'tweets' posted by individuals and organisations. You can engage by responding to others' tweets and creating tweets of your own. 

Twitter provides the opportunity to engage with a diverse range of individuals, groups and organisations, including those traditionally difficult to reach. This can include industry, researchers, community groups, media, organisations, government bodies, practitioners, and many others.

Why LinkedIn?

This career and industry-oriented social network allows individuals and companies to engage with professionally-oriented connections. If you choose to have a profile here, it is likely to be ranked highly in search engine results.

  • Purpose - career and industry-oriented
  • Analytics for engagement with your profile and posts, but not with your publications
Why Facebook?

This social networking service allows you to share text, photos, links and more and engage with material shared by others. You can create and join groups. Businesses, organisations and brands can create pages. There are extensive privacy settings which allow you to categorise the people with whom you engage and determine what they can see. You can choose to follow public posts by individuals.

Highlights
  • Reach - Facebook has significant takeup and you may find profiles for many with whom you would like to engage e.g. publishers, editors, other researchers
Limitations
  • Purpose - targeted at informal exchanges between family and friends
  • Concerns over blurred boundaries between the personal and professional
  • Privacy considerations - you need to carefully manage what you share
Why Google Scholar Profiles?

A Google Scholar profile allows you to create a list of your research outputs and track citations for those indexed in Google Scholar. 

Highlights
  • Coverage - Google Scholar includes information about a great range of different publications from many sources, and captures citations not found by the more restrictive citations databases such as Scopus and Web of Science
  • Automated updates - you can choose to allow automatic addition of work to your profile or to receive email alerts to review and confirm
  • Discoverable - your name will be hyperlinked in Google Scholar search results which enables users to find your profile
Limitations
  • Minimal profile - limited to photo, name, affiliation, 'areas of interest', link to homepage and co-authors
  • Affiliation required - eligible institutional email address required for inclusion in Google Scholar search results
  • Errors in records can require cleanup such as merging and editing
  • Quality and reliability - the automated nature of the service and lack of transparency means that errors can occur and citation counts may not be accepted by some bodies
Why ResearchGate?

This academic social network allows you to create a profile, list your research outputs with downloadable full text where copyright permits, nominate and be endorsed for expertise, find and follow individuals and topics, comment on and review others' work, expose your own work to comment and review, ask and answer research questions, and track engagement with your work through a variety of metrics.

Why  Academia?

This academic social network allows you to list your research outputs with downloadable full text where copyright permits, nominate research interests, find and follow individuals and research interests, upload and request feedback on drafts, provide feedback on others' drafts (where enabled), and track engagement with your work through page and profile views.

Note: this network requires a 'premium' subscription for access to some features

More on Social Media...

Social Media for Researchers guide banner

Make your research accessible

For all publication types, consider these factors about the publisher: reputation; how well they promote your work; will your work be discoverable (e.g. via their website or a key database); their copyright policies (e.g. can you self-archive in repositories?)

For journal articles specifically, consider:

  • is the journal targeted at the audience you want to reach?
  • is the journal widely indexed - will you find articles in relevant databases and Google Scholar?
  • is the journal open access or restricted to subscribers?
  • how well regarded/influential is the journal - measured by esteem and/or citations
  • have you considered search engine optimisation when writing?
Is your work in UniSA's Research Outputs Repository?

Your research output (e.g. article, book chapter, thesis) needs to be added to the University's Repository:

  • if you are a Research Degree Candidate 
  • in order to appear in your Academic Staff Activity Report
  • in order to appear on your staff homepage
  • in order to comply with UniSA's Open Access policy.

If your work has altmetrics in the Altmetric Explorer database these will also appear in the Repository record.

Make your public policy resources discoverable to thousands of policy workers in government, non-governmental organisations, education and industry

Analysis & Policy Observatory (previously Australian Policy Online) is an 'open access evidence platform' encouraging contributions of openly accessible public policy resources from organisations. APO has thousands of subscribers to its newsletters and Twitter followers.

After depositing your work in the Research Outputs Repository, UniSA researchers are encouraged to contribute to APO.

Research Data Management guide banner

Publishers may require data underlying findings to be made publicly accessible.

Benefits to making data open can include:

  • increasing exposure to your research
  • increasing citation rates
  • facilitating collaboration
  • enabling other researchers to avoid duplication of research

Open Access

Open Access guide banner

Open access scholarly works are available online at no cost to anyone interested in viewing them.

UniSA's Open Access Policy encourages open access by making UniSA research openly available via the Research Outputs Repository where publisher policies allow.

Certain funding bodies have open access mandates. 

Unique identifiers for research outputs

Unique identifiers for research outputs are associated with descriptive information (metadata) which can be found by searching for the identifier. Benefits of identifiers include:

  • assist others to locate referenced works
  • unambiguously claim works as your own 
  • better tracking of engagement with your research (easier collection of metrics)

Examples: Digital Object Identifier (DOI) International Standard Book Number (ISBN)PubMed Unique Identifier (PMID) | Social Science Research Network ID (SSRN ID)

The DOI system is an international standard and many publishers automatically assign DOIs when they publish a work. If you aren't sure if your work has been assigned a DOI, you can discover this online using the free DOI lookup from Crossref.

Get a DOI via UniSA for grey literature and non-traditional research outputs

UniSA can generate a DOI for outputs such as reports, creative works, and unpublished conference papers, provided:

  • UniSA or a UniSA researcher holds the intellectual property
  • UniSA is the primary publisher.

You can request that a DOI be minted when you deposit your work to the Research Outputs Repository by adding a note to the Submission Comments field.

For works already deposited to the Repository, you can make a DOI request by emailing the Library’s Discovery Services team with the resource title, publication year, and the names, affiliations and ORCID identifiers of all authors/creators.

Get a DOI for datasets

DOIs can only be minted for datasets already added to UniSA’s Data Access Portal. If the dataset is already in the Data Access Portal, email the Library’s Discovery Services team with the dataset title, publication year, and the names, affiliations and ORCID identifers of all authors/creators.

If the dataset is not in the Data Access Portal, please contact Ask the Library to discuss depositing your dataset.

Publishing at UniSA

Are you planning to publish material (such as a report) where UniSA is the main authoring institution? International Standard Book Numbers (ISBNs) identify the specific title and edition of a publication from a specific publisher and are issued exclusively to that edition.

Publication design, typesetting and ISBNs

You can contact UniPrint to discuss support available for these aspects. UniPrint can also issue ISBNs, which are most useful for works which will be widely distributed in print as part of traditional publication distribution. They are generally optional for reports. You could choose to have just a DOI, or both a DOI and ISBN.

ISBNs can also be obtained (for a cost) from Thorpe-Bowker.

Tracking your visibility

Metrics and impact guide banner

Altmetrics are non-traditional metrics such as downloads, comments, likes, tweets and views - broadly, anything other than citations in published scholarly literature. They can be accessed via some publisher and database pages, and also via the UniSA-subscribed database Altmetric Explorer. Figures are indicative only as mentions can be missed - for example, if a news site mentions your work without including details the Altmetric company needs to detect the mention, such as a DOI.