COMM 2090: UO Communication Research Methods - Theoretical Reflection
1. What you need to do
This page will help you find research articles from communication journals and information about different research methodologies.
For assessment 1.2 you are required to:
- identify and summarise one research method from the course
- find a research article that applies the same method and
- summarise the findings of the article and articulate how the method was used, analysing and evaluating its applications and limitations
Check your Course website and Course Outline for more information about the assessment requirements.
2. What is an academic source?
You need to find research-based (academic) sources which includes peer reviewed journal articles.
Want to Know More?
Read: How to find scholarly sources - PDF (303. 38 KB)
Watch Study Help: Scholarly sources Explained (2 min 22 sec)
Peer reviewed (refereed) journals include articles that are evaluated by experts in the field before being published.
You can check if a journal is peer reviewed by going to the journal's website and checking their peer review policy or using the database Ulrichsweb.
To search Ulrichsweb you can type the name or ISSN of the journal into the search box.
Look for the peer review icon of a referee jacket 
to see if your journal is peer reviewed.
3. Where to search
Databases
Try searching library databases for relevant academic sources.
Databases are search tools for finding articles, papers, reports and more. Find databases by browsing subjects under category then refining on the left by Communication.
Two useful databases you should become familiar with are:
- SAGE journals: Communication and Media studiesThis database covers such subjects as: mass communication, speech communication, journalism and communication research methods.
- ProQuest Social Sciences Premium CollectionThis ProQuest collection includes key databases such as Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and International Bibliography of the Social Sciences - search as a collection or each database individually
Journals
Journals are publications similar to magazines. They have issues published regularly (e.g. monthly) and focus on a particular subject. Articles in academic journals should be well researched, include references and be written by experts in that area.
You can find communication journals in the Library collection to browse using the tool BrowZine. Open BrowZine by selecting:
- Journals at the top of the Library homepage
- then browse by Social Science and Behavioral Science and Communication and Journalism
Remember: the articles need to come from a journal that is pure communications, public relations, sociology or media - not articles where communication approaches have been applied in another field.
Not sure if it is a peer reviewed communication journal? Go to the journal website to find out more about the journal's aim, audience and peer review policy.
Tip
Check here for a list of prestigious academic journals in Communications and Media:
4. How to search
Here is an example search in SAGE journals: Communication and Media studies.
1. Select Search from the top of the page, under the search box select Advanced Search.2. Add a different concept (keyword) in each new line.
3. Apply limits by by using the refining options to the right of the results:
- ARTICLE TYPE > Research Article
- PUBLICATION DATE range
4. Select a title to take you to the article, from the left Article Menu select Method to check the method used.
Here is an example search in ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection.
1. Select Advanced Search from top of page.2. Add different concepts (keywords) in each new line using the connector AND.
"social media" AND "fake news"
3. Apply limits by by using the refining options to the left of the results:
- Peer reviewed
- Publication date
4. Select Get full text to access the article, use Ctrl+F to search article for "method", look through the results to check the method used.
- Change your search concepts or try a different database.
- Add any synonyms to your search using the connector OR.
- Use truncation to find different word endings. Find out more here: How to save time searching databases -PDF (301.42 KB)
5. How to find research methods
Your textbook includes a lot of information about research methods:
Weerakkody, Niranjala Damayanthi 2015, Research Methods for Media and Communication, 2nd ed, Oxford University Press, South Melbourne, Victoria.
You can also find information about different communication research methods using the following database:
- SAGE Research MethodsA comprehensive online collection of resources where you can explore methodological concepts to help you design your research project, understand a particular research method or identify a new method, and write up your research.
To find information about research methods:
1. Enter your search terms in the Search box at the top of the page.
Try searching generally for communication research methods.
"communication research methods"
Alternatively, you can search for the research method you want to explore.
ethnography
2. Apply limits using the Refine options menu to the right of your results. Try limiting by:
- Content type
- Publication date
Want to Know More?
Watch SAGE Research Methods Overview (2 min 8 sec)
6. Evaluate what you have found
Is what you have located relevant and reliable? Are you uncertain whether to use the information you have found? Always critically evaluate what you find:
When evaluating information you can use the CRAAP test:
| Currency | How current does the information need to be? Do you need to use information published in the last five years or are older, seminal works fine to use? |
| Relevance | Does the information found answer your question? Do you understand the content and is it at the right level for your purpose? |
| Authority | What are the author's qualifications? Are they linked to a particular organisation such as a university, research institute or government department? |
| Accuracy | Is evidence given for the research undertaken? Can you verify the information presented by using other sources? Is there a bibliography or references given? |
| Purpose | Is it trying to communicate research, persuade you or sell you something? It is expressing an opinion, or is it balanced and objective? |
Watch Study Help: Evaluating Information - video (2 min 22 sec)
7. Summarise and critique your article
Critical thinking is an essential part of taking a scholarly approach to learning. It involves analysing and questioning information you receive to arrive at logical, well-reasoned conclusions.
The following resources from Study Help will assist you in understanding and developing your critical thinking and analysing skills needed for your assignment.
Review: Critical Thinking (Monash University)
Review: Critical Thinking (University of Leeds)