COMM 1065: Professional and technical communication - Genre change portfolio
Getting Started
This Assignment Help will help you in finding information for Assessment 2: Genre Change Portfolio
| Please refer to your Course Outline and LearnOnline site for full assessment information. |
Plan your Search
In order to locate relevant literature for your assignment you need to plan your search strategy before searching for information.
Check out the video and guide below to learn how to do this:
| Concepts | Synonyms |
| content repackaging |
content repurposing content recycling |
|
Information Sources |
website blog infographic magazine brochure |
|
Target audience*
|
target market |
*Depending on the target demographic you may want to select relevant age groups: young/young adult/teenager, middle aged/adulthood, old/mature/elderly
Example search strategy:
|
("content repackaging" OR "content repurposing" OR "content recycling") AND (website OR blog OR infographic) |
AND
- Used to combine the concepts.
- The more concepts you connect with AND the more focused your search will become.
- Narrows your search.
OR :
- Used to combine the synonyms.
- Broadens your search.
- Includes results that use different terminology.
Remember to use,
- "quotation marks" to keep phrases together
- brackets (.....) to keep alternative keywords for each concept together.
The example search strategies in the searching box have been taken using SOME of the concepts and synonyms above. This list is by no means exhaustive and you can practice using alternative concepts and keywords when creating your search strategy.
Searching
The Library Collection is a good place to start your search for scholarly material. You can use it to find eBooks, journal articles, reports, videos and more.
Here is an example search using some of the concepts and corresponding synonyms. Using the advanced search function enter the following search terms :
Row 1: "content repackaging" OR "content repurposing" OR "content recycling" AND
Row 2: websites OR blogs OR infographics
- Learn how to search The Library Collection by taking the Interactive Tutorial.
- Information such as saving your searches and resources to your favourites list can be found at What are the top collection search tips? in Ask the Library FAQs
Try Google Scholar to find scholarly information. An advantage of Google Scholar is that it provides access to the full text of many UniSA scholarly (academic) articles.
The Advanced Google Scholar search option gives more flexibility when you search. To access it select the menu (three lines) in the top left hand corner of Google Scholar. This menu will appear once you do an initial search in Google Scholar.
Here is an example:
("content repackaging" OR "content repurposing" OR "content recycling") AND (websites OR blogs OR infographics)
You should also try searching library databases for relevant academic sources.
Databases are search tools for finding articles, papers, reports and more. Find databases by browsing under categories.
Here is an example search in ProQuest Central.
Example search strategy:
For the database search, I have added an extra concept.
("content repackaging" OR "content repurposing" OR "content recycling")
AND
(website OR blog OR infographic)
AND
("target audience" OR "target market")
Content Repackaging Tools and Examples
Audiovisual Resources
Watch the following videos on
"How to Repurpose Content Across Platforms" by Laura Busche which can also be accessed via the Library Collection.
- How to Repurpose Content Across Multiple Platforms (1:16 mins)
- 7 Different Ways to Repurpose Content Today (16:29 mins)
- Precautions: How to Set Yourself up for Repurposing Success (3:33 mins)
Watch the following section from Linkedin Learning
- Reusing and repackaging content (3:04 mins) from the course Advanced Content Marketing.
Further Assignment Help
Need advice on writing or presenting? Not sure how to organise your ideas? The Study help: online resources hub has tools to help you with your Assignments and succeed at university!
Want someone to check over a draft of your assignment? Studiosity offers an online classroom where you can chat with a learning adviser. The associated "Check Mate" service helps with English, writing and referencing.
Referencing
- Referencing websiteHelp with various referencing styles. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more.
Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the citation style required for your course.
Other referencing support tools:
What do you do with all those references you have found?
Use bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.
Ask the library
​Ask the Library for help via live chat, phone, email, or access our suite of self-help resources.