Communication, Media and Journalism: UO COMM 2091: Media Law and Ethics

Assignment Help

Finding information for your case study brief and analysis 

What you need to do

Use this assignment help to find information for your:

  • Case study brief
  • Case study analysis

Remember: Always check your course outline for the assessment details.

What you need to find

   Break it down

One way to approach this assignment is to break it down into the following stages.

  • Stage 1: Find and describe a media artefact
    For example:
    • TV advertisement
    • Scene from a TV show
    • Radio advertisement
    • Poster
    • Newspaper article
    • See your assignment instructions for more examples
  • Stage 2: Explore ethical issues relating to the artefact
    For example:
    • Find relevant theories
    • Examine contemporary ethical issues within the media
    • Find ethical codes of conduct, guidelines and protocols
    • Explain tensions between market forces and social responsibility
  • Stage 3: Explore relevant legal issues relating to the artefact
    For example:
    • Look for laws related to your media artefact and the industry

 

Stage 1: Find and describe a media artefact

   Finding a media artefact

The media artefact you find may be a positive or negative example of ethical practice, must be Australian made and published.

When looking for an artefact, consider potential issues regarding the ethical representation of vulnerable and/or diverse groups in relation to:

  • media and communications
  • public relations
  • marketing practice

There is a range of Library databases and industry websites which can help you find a media artefact. Explore the links below:

  • WARC – for advertisements
  • AdWeek – for advertisements
  • NewsBank – for print news stories
  • TVNews – for news stories
  • EduTV – for TV segments
  • The Vogue Archive – for recent magazine issues. This database provides a complete replica of the print magazine, including the advertisements.
  • Crikey – for news stories
  • Mumbrella – for media and marketing news stories
  • B&T Magazine – for advertising, media and marketing news stories
  • Creative Review – for creative industries opinion and analysis articles
  • YouTube – if you're interested in a particular company, you may find their YouTube channel a good source of content to explore.

Stage 2: Explore ethical issues

   Ethical issues and theories

For this assignment, you need to choose an ethical issue or theory to discuss in the context of your chosen media artefact.

There are several places you could look for scholarly information on ethical issues:

  • Textbooks
  • Journal articles
  • eBooks

Here is an example search in the Library catalogue:

  • Type your keywords into the catalogue search bar and select search
    Example search in Library catalogue for: utilitarianism AND media
     
  • Refine your results - e.g. peer reviewed (scholarly), published within the last few years, fulltext online.
    Screenshot of Refine my results section of Library catalogue

Library databases are an excellent source of further scholarly information and commentary.

Here is an example search in the key database ProQuest Social Sciences Premium:

  • Select the Advanced Search option
  • Enter each concept on a separate line, using Add a row if necessary
  • Tick the box for Peer reviewed
  • Select search
    Screenshot of search in ProQuest Social Sciences Premium
     
  • Refine your results using the left-hand menu

Explore the following key databases:

   Codes of conduct, regulations, guidelines and protocols

Competion and Consumer Act 2010
The Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (CCA) is the central piece of legislation relevant to Australian advertising, and covers the relationships between suppliers, wholesalers, retailers and customers. Its purpose is to promote fair trading and competition, and provide protections to customers. (Download Fact Sheet)

AANA Code of Ethics
The AANA Code of Ethics is the cornerstone of the advertising self-regulatory system, and is supported by advertisers, media agencies, creative agencies and media owners across Australia. It applies to any medium as per its definition. The Code is supplemented by a number of product-specific codes, and is underpinned by an independent complaints handling system administered by Ad Standards.

Ad Standards & The Community Panel
Ad Standards administers the AANA’s national system of self-regulation, and manages the complaints resolution process. Ad Standards functions as the secretariat for the AdStandards Community Panel and the AdStandards Industry Jury – two independent bodies established to determine consumer and competitor complaints against the AANA Codes.

   Government information relating to industry practice

Government websites are useful for finding data, reports and commentary on contemporary and ethical issues in the media. Some examples of government information are:

Stage 3: Explore relevant legal issues

   Finding legislation

Use the database Lawlex to find legislation to use in your assignment.

  • Step 1: Choose quick search or Browse
  • Step 2:
    If Browse:
    • Think about whether you're looking for legislation in one or more states or across the Commonwealth
    • Select a broad category and refine further if necessary

Screenshot of example Browse search in Lawlex

  • If Quick Search:
    • Type in term
    • Select jurisdiction or leave on "All"
    • Look for the "Principle Act" icon Principle Act icon
    • Select the Act to view the fulltext and any related explanatory information

Screenshot of Quick Search example in Lawlex

 

   Understanding legislation

You can find simple explanations of legislation such as factsheets and guides from law societies, law journalist blogs, media and government websites.

Check out the links below for examples and remember that searching is an iterative process – you may find exploring the resources in Step 2 useful in understanding the legislation you find, too.

Putting it all together

Now, it's time to put all your information together.

Use the Study Help links below to help you write and reference your assignment:

Feedback