1. Assignment Task
|
This assignment help is designed to assist with Assessment 1 and Assessment 2 for COMM 2101: Creative Spaces and Places. The assessments are: 1. Critical analysis and on-ground audit of a space 2. Group place-making proposal, consisting of a a. Group presentation pitch; and b. Final proposal plan Please refer to your Course Outline and Course Learnonline Site for full assessment information. |
Plan your search
For your assignment you will need to search for academic references. Start planning your search by:
- Identifying the keywords in your topic
- Next think of alternate words for your key words to also use in your searching
Below are some examples of keywords:
| Keywords | Alternative words |
|---|---|
| renewal | redevelopment, revitalisation, growth, regeneration |
| urban | city, town |
| sustainability | green, "environmentally friendly" |
| "urban planning" | "urban geography" |
| creative | cultural, artistic, creativity |
| place-making | "place making" |
For more search tips use the resources below:
Watch: Plan your search (2:26mins)
Read: Plan your search
Library Collection
The Library Collection is a useful starting point in locating academic references.
In your search, try using
- double quotes for phrases
- truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word
- connect keywords using AND, OR and NOT
(place-making OR "place making") AND urban (renewal OR development OR growth)
Using the Refine your results options, you can then choose to limit your search results:
- to articles from Peer Reviewed publications
- by resource type, ie., articles
- by Date eg 2016 to 2021
Historical archives
Image: South west corner of Hindley Street and King William Street, circa 1910. State Library of South Australia, B 35176.
There are a couple of websites you can go to to find historical information about the places in Adelaide.
You can also check out our Archival Research Guide for more tips on searching for archival information.
- SLSA - State Library of South Australia - heritage pageThe State Library of South Australia has resources relating to the heritage of Adelaide buildings. This page provides information about the levels of heritage listing and images & brief histories of South Australia places.
- SLSA - Tracing the history of a house: HomeA guide to State Library and other resources to use to trace the history of your house.
- TROVESearch Trove to explore amazing collections from Australian libraries, universities, museums, galleries and archives.
- STATE RECORDS - House or Property HistoryWe hold some records about house and land history. These include council rates, development applications, and land ownership.
Useful website resources
The information on these websites can assist you with your ‘place-making’ proposal. There are some great resources on these pages and can give you information to think about when re-activating a space, re-imaging a space or creating a place-based "story".
Statistics and Data
Statistical data can be used to help inform your decision making process. You might want to look at various demographic data to determine if your idea is viable for the community. Here is an example of how City of Melville used statistical data.
Here are some databases where you can search for statistical data
Writing it up
Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) for tips on how to write a report or access the Report writing document at the bottom of this box.
For more help:
- Oral PresentationsView a range of resources prepared by the SEU to assist you with delivering an oral presentation
Referencing Images
Using images in your presentation or proposal? Make sure you reference or attribute them correctly.
See the handout below for more information on finding creative commons licensed images and how to attribute them correctly:
Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? You can use a bibliographic management software to store, organise, and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. EndNote automates citing your references and allows you to create and organise a library of references. For more information and to download the software, check out the EndNote Guide: