Marketing: MARK 5025: Marketing Management

Assignment Help

1. MARK 5025

Use this assignment help to assist you with:

  • defining your assignment,
  • finding statistics and,
  • finding and evaluating resources.

Remember, always check your course outline for assessment details.

2. Plan your Search

To find information you will need to think of keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.

  • Determine your keywords
  • Next think of synonyms or alternative words for this keywords
Keywords Alternative words
Brands branding, brand name products, product management
Competitors competitor analysis, competition, competitive advantage
Customer analysis customer profile
Marketing mix 4 P's, product, price, place, promotion
SWOT analysis strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats

Above are just a few examples. For information and tips on planning your search please read How to plan your search or watch the short video below.

3. Analysis and recommendations

 

A PESTLE (or PEST) analysis examines factors affecting the Political, Economic, Social, and Technological, Legal and Environmental landscape around your industry or company.

Try these sites for more information on conducting PESTLE analysis:

The below diagram is adapted from Porter's 2008 article, The five competitive forces that shape strategy.

For more about Porter's Five Forces, see the suggestions below:

 
SWOT analysis is a model that analyzes an organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats to create the foundation of a marketing strategy.
 
Have a look at these sites for help with conducting a SWOT analysis:

 

SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals.

For more help with SMART objectives, have a look at these sites:

4. Finding industry statistics

Governmental sites are an excellent source of industry statistics. Try these sites to help you to find the statistics you need:

5. Finding resources using databases

 
  • Company reports on the top 2000 Australian companies
  • Industry reports on Australian industries, as well as selected US and Chinese industries
  • Australian Industry Risk Rating reports with forecasted risks the industry will face over the next 18 months

You can browse available reports by using the tabs at the top of the screen:

 

You can also search for the company of industry you are interested in by using the search box:

  • Access Company Profiles, Industry Reports, Country Reports, SWOT Analysis, Market Research Reports
  • USA focused but includes some Australian and international companies and industries

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.


To search for company reports, select More then Company Profiles from the top menu bar:

You can then search for the company you are interested in. Both MarketLine and Medtrack reports are available from Business Source Ultimate.

D&B Hoovers

D&B Hoovers delivers business information and sales intelligence on millions of companies and executives worldwide. Includes company profiles, news, business and trade articles, research reports, executive profiles, industry intelligence and financial data.
 
Watch this short video (3mins) on finding industry information using D&B Hoovers.
 
Watch this short video (3mins) on finding company information using D&B Hoovers.
 

WARC is an in-depth marketing and advertising resource with research, reports, case studies and insights into brands and consumers.  It is an an easy to use, fun to explore and highly recommended resource. 

 Tip: Try a general search first, for example for Hyundai, try searching for electric cars or hybrid cars. You can then filter your search with the options on the left hand side including date range and location.

Two ways to explore consumer insights for an industry
 

Option 1. Type your industry in the search bar (e.g. electric cars) then hit the search  button. Select the topic (e.g. Automotive) that comes up on top. In the new page, go to the left hand side and filter by sub-categories (e.g. Eco, hybrid, electric cars). 

Option 2. Click the hamburger menu  on the top right, choose  'Browse by interest' and select 'Categories'. In another page, under the Automotive category, select a sub-category (e.g. Eco, hybrid, electric cars).

 

 

Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. 

Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website. You will be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

Watch the video: Why use Google Scholar? to find out more. 

Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

There are a number of ways you can search Passport GMID to find information.

You can search across the entire database by using the text search box at the top of the screen by using the ALL option or search for either Analysis and Statistics information.

Alternatively, you can type in your keyword(s) in the search box and on the results page, you can choose the Statistics or the Analysis tab.

 

6. Finding company, industry and market information

 

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web, our databases and the Library catalogue for company and industry information, financial information, annual reports, legislation and regulation, media coverage and information on public/private companies.

7. Search the Library Collection

Search the Library Collection below to get started!

?

Tweak your results using the filters on the left hand side of the page to:

  • Limit to articles from Peer-Reviewed Journals
  • Limit by Publication Date e.g. 2017 to 2022

Take a 15 minute tutorial to sharpen your skills and Learn to Search the Collection

8. Evaluating your resources

The video below explains how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.

Alternately read this quick guide on how to find scholarly sources.

9. Referencing Support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).
  • What do you do with all those references you have found?

    Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.