BUSS 1057: Business and Society
1. What you need to do
This page will assist you to find scholarly information and other resources to support your assessments.
Remember to read all the information on your course outline and course learnonline site related to your assessments to understand exactly what you need to do.
2. Plan your search
Once you have read the assignment details, think about the key ideas and issues it raises.
Try mapping these ideas in a table or mind map. Think of alternative concepts or synonyms you can incorporate into different searches.
Example:
| Concept | Synonyms or alternative concepts |
| Aboriginal |
|
| tourism |
|
| sustainability |
|
| ethics |
|
Tips
- How to plan your search - PDF (276 KB)This resource explains how to combine and connect search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- Plan your search - Video (2 min 26 sec)Short UniSA Library video on how to construct an effective search.
3. Where to search
For previous assignments, you may have used the Library Collection or Google Scholar to find relevant information. You can still use these to do some quick searches to help you understand your topic area.
- Google ScholarAccess Google Scholar through the Library website
Library Collection search example:
Tip: Use the 'Refine my results' menu to limit your search to books or articles.
We recommend these key Business databases:
- Business Source UltimateProvides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles.
- Informit Indigenous AustraliaThis bibliographic database represents the collections of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission Library. It includes all videos, some monographs and articles.
More help
4. Build your search
Apply the keywords you brainstormed earlier to databases to find relevant references.
Business Source Ultimate
Business Source Ultimate is a key business database that you should become familiar with. It will be useful throughout your studies.
- Start by entering each of your different concepts into a new search box. Notice these are connected with AND.
- Incorporate any synonyms into your search. Connect these with OR.
- Apply limits if you want. These can help to narrow your search.
Informit Indigenous Australia
Search this database the same way you search Business Source Ultimate. It is really useful for finding Australian content.
- If you want you can use truncation, the star * symbol, to find word stems. For example ethic* will find ethics OR ethical.
- Double quotes are used to keep phrases together, for example "first nations".
More help
- How to save time searching databases with truncation, wildcards and phrases - PDF (301 KB)This guide explains the symbols used by each database to enable you to search them effectively
5. How to write reflectively
Check out these resources for a better understanding of reflective writing:
- Reflective writing (UniSA)This page will help you to understand the reflective writing process, as well as gives examples on reflective writing as part of assessments.
- How to write a reflective task (QUT)A quick guide to reflective writing from the Queensland University of Technology.
- Reflective writing (UNSW)A guide to reflective writing developed by the University of NSW
Tip: Even though these resources use examples from different contexts, use them to get a feel for the writing style and depth of reflection.
6. Case study analysis
Watch the video (4 min 6 sec) below for an overview of case studies:
The following resources may also be useful:
- Case studies (UniSA)Case study information developed by the Student Engagement Unit.
- Case study analysis: a guide for students - PDF (130 KB)This guide by James Cook University will walk you through how to analyse and structure a case study.
- Writing a case study (Monash Uni)This guide, created by Monash University, includes steps for how to write a case study.
For more help on improving your academic skills, please visit the Study Help hub managed by the UniSA Student Engagement Unit.
- Study HelpStudy Help is an online hub packed with useful assignment and study tips and tools
7. APA Referencing Style
- APA 7 Style Referencing GuidelinesReferencing information from the APA Style website.
- Academic Writer Tutorial: Basics of Seventh Edition APA StyleThis tutorial provides an introduction to the APA seventh edition (APA 7) and is designed for writers new to this reference style.
- APA Interactive Guide (Massey University)APA Interactive includes customised examples of APA references and in-text citations.
- Introduction to APA 7 - Interactive tutorialLearn about referencing using the seventh edition APA style in this interactive tutorial from JCU Library. Create a reference for a book, a journal article and and a webpage.
8. Study support tools
- Study Help: online hubA range of resources to help you complete your assignments and succeed at university.
- StudiosityOne on one help for academic writing and grammar, or maths, accounting, statistics or referencing.
- LinkedIn Learningan online library of high-quality instructional videos on life skills and the latest software tools, with more than 10,000 courses covering business, design, computing, photography, video, animation and more.
- Student Software & AppsThis page allows students to access a range general and course specific application software on personal devices including desktop computers, laptops, tablets and smart phones, wherever an Internet connection is available.