1. Introduction
For your assessments, in addition to the course content and sources, you may find it helpful to research industry relevant content which could include commercial sources as well as academic journals, books and conference papers.
This guide will help you do this.
Important: Before you begin, it is strongly recommended that you fully read the assessment instructions available on your course site.
2. Plan your search
To find information you will need to identify relevant keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.
Determine your keywords/search terms
Next think of synonyms or alternative words for these keywords
| Keywords/search terms | Alternative words |
| blockchain | "digital ledger" |
| IoT |
"internet of things" |
| XR |
"extended reality", "virtual reality", "augmented reality" |
| Tip: Your selected industry |
Include your industry name to narrow results to that industry. Consider adding 'innovation' or 'transformation' to focus on emerging solutions. |
Tip: Revisit the readings included in the applicable weekly topics for this assessment for key concepts and examples. Applications of technology in other industries could provide a starting point for keywords to help with your research.
Above are just a few examples. For more information and tips on planning your search visit the Plan your Search tab of this guide and the following resources:
3. Management consultancies
Management consultancies can be a source of technology information and application to business and in some cases specific industries.
Some suggested Management consultancies include:
Tip: Conduct a Google search for the name of the company and the technology and/or industry.
4. World Economic Forum
- World Economic ForumThe World Economic Forum has content on specific technologies and impacts on business and society as well as industry specific sections. Accenture is a partner of the World Economic Forum.
5. Key business magazines
Business magazines are a great way to get an insight into the latest business trends and challenges.
- Harvard Business ReviewHBR provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool.
Using Harvard Business Review
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through Business Source Ultimate database. To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: leave the first row as it is.
6. Finding industry reports
Industry reports are a good place to start to get an overview of an industry. These reports often include sections on industry trends and an analysis of the industry including insights into potential technology applications and insights.
Tip: Both Australian and global perspectives are useful.
- Company and Industry InformationFurther suggested databases can be found on the Library's Company and Industry Information guide. This guide will help you search the web and our databases to find company and industry information.
Top suggested databases include:
IBISWorld
IBISWorld - Finding Industry Reports
1. In the IBISWorld homepage, type your industry into the search box.
2. Select the Industry report from the results lists Tip: Look for the industry symbol next to the report. 
3. When you open the report use the menu on the left hand side to browse key information. To download the report click this red arrow icon next to the industry name. 
To browse all Industry Research reports
1. Select 'Industry Research' from the menu on the IBISWorld homepage.
2. Select the 'Country' you are interested in from the options on the left hand side
D&B Hoovers
D&B Hoovers - Finding Industry Information
1. In the D&B Hoovers homepage, type your industry into the search box, e.g. motor vehicle manufacturing.
2. Open drop down menu, select Industries then click the search button.
3. Choose the appropriate link to the industry code from the search results.
Finding MarketLine Industry Profile
MarketLine Industry Profiles give a clear picture of the key dynamics in each sector, including analysis of factors affecting the sector's performance, details of the leading companies operating within each country or region, new entrants, key supplies and levels of competitor rivalry. Industry Profiles include five year forecasts, practical application of Porter's Five Forces analysis, and company financial metrics.
To access MarketLine Industry Profile, go to the left hand side of the industry page. Click the Country/Region on top of the table to sort reports by country.
7. Key databases
Databases are online collections of resources that include journal articles, conference papers, books, chapters and reports. They include advanced search options helping you to focus your search and find relevant, scholarly references quickly.
Business Source Ultimate
This is an example of an Advanced Search using Business Source Ultimate.
You can limit your search to Full-text, Peer Reviewed (scholarly journals), and by publication date on the left hand side of the results page.
- Business Source UltimateCovers all areas of business including industry reports and peer reviewed articles on challenges and opportunities within business.
- IEEEXploreIEEE Xplore provides access to publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. It also include articles and information on technology applications in Business.
- ProQuest One BusinessContains business-focused content- including articles, case studies, and industry reports.
8. Google Scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the following to find out more:
9. Industry in the news
Technology is constantly evolving. Searching the latest news and developments can provide insights into the current and potential opportunities within an industry.
- News Media GuideSee the News Media Guide for a full list of relevant databases that provide access to Australian and international news media.
How to Search in NewsBank
How to search in NewsBank:
- Below is an example search on the automotive industry.
- Add your concepts or search terms into the search box and select Search.
- Newest articles are displayed first as a default.
- You can also refine your results by limiting the Source location > Australia.
You can also browse news media articles by using the 'Suggested Topics' on the homepage of NewsBank. To do this:
- Choose a suggested topic, e.g. Technology
- Then select one of the sub-topics within this area, e.g. Information Technology > Artificial Intelligence
- You can refine your results by applying filters such as date, e.g. 2022-2024
- NewsBankConsolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles and other publications. It helps to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national, and international levels.
- TVNewsIndexes Australian television news, current affairs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to digitised video content in a compressed format that is searchable and accessible.
- IET.tvOne of the largest collated resources of authoritative and multidisciplinary engineering and technology content (i.e., presentation, lecture and training videos) which offers research insight, workflow solutions, and access to inspirational events and expert communities.
10. Writing reports
Once you have all your information it is time to put everything together. The following video (2 min 53 sec) and resource page will assist:
- Study help: Writing reportsAn online hub packed with study resources.
11. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.
12. Rate this resource
Please respond to the statement: "This guide has helped me with my assessment."