1. Introduction
For your assessments, in addition to the course content and sources, you may find it helpful to research industry relevant content. This could include commercial sources as well as academic journals, books, and conference papers.
This guide will help you with this.
Important: Before you begin, it is strongly recommended that you fully read the assessment instructions available on your course site.
2. Plan your search
To find information you will need to identify relevant keywords in your topic that you can use in your search.
- Determine your keywords/search terms
- Next think of synonyms or alternative words for these keywords
|
Keywords |
Alternative words |
|
Data |
"data analytics", "Big data", "business data", "data strategy", "intelligent data" |
|
AI |
"artificial intelligence", "machine learning", "AI learning", "AI business" |
|
Cloud |
"cloud business", "cloud strategy" |
|
Security |
"cyber security", "cyber security strategy" |
|
Tip: Your selected industry |
Include your industry name to narrow results to that industry. Consider adding 'innovation' or 'transformation' to focus on emerging solutions. |
Above are just a few examples. For more information and tips on planning your search look at the Plan your Search tab of this guide.
Tip: Revisit the readings included in the applicable weekly topics for this assessment for key concepts and examples. Applications of technology in other industries could also provide a starting point for keywords to help with your research.
More help
- How to plan your search (PDF, 276 KB)A short guide on steps you need to plan your search, including how to combine your search terms using OR, AND, NOT.
- Study Help: Plan your search (Video, 2 min 25 sec)Short UniSA Library video on how to construct an effective search.
3. Finding industry reports
Industry reports are a good place to start to get an overview of an industry. These reports often include sections on industry trends and an analysis of the industry including insights into potential technology applications and insights.
Tip: Both Australian and global perspectives are useful.
Further suggested databases can be found on the Library's Company and Industry Information Guide.
- Company and Industry Information GuideVisit this guide for assistance searching for real company or industry data to include in your report. It can help you find both public and private company and industry information.
Databases
Top suggested databases include:
IBISWorld
Finding industry reports in IBISWorld
1. In the IBISWorld homepage, type your industry into the search box.
2. Select the Industry report from the results lists.
Tip: Look for the industry symbol next to the report.
3. When you open the report use the menu on the left hand side to browse key information. To download the report click the red arrow icon next to the industry name.
Browsing all industry research reports
1. Select the 'Industries' drop down from the menu on the IBISWorld homepage. Select View all sectors to browse the full list.
2. Select the country you are interested in from the options on the left hand side.
D&B Hoovers
Finding industry information in D&B Hoovers
1. In the D&B Hoovers homepage, type your industry into the search box, e.g., motor vehicle manufacturing.
2. Open the drop down menu, select Industries, then click the search button.
3. Choose the appropriate link to the industry code from the search results.
Finding MarketLine Industry Profiles in D&B Hoovers
MarketLine Industry Profiles give a clear picture of the key dynamics in each sector, including an analysis of factors affecting the sector's performance, details of the leading companies operating within each country or region, new entrants, key supplies, and levels of competitor rivalry. Industry Profiles include:
- Five year forecasts
- Practical application of Porter's Five Forces analysis
- Company financial metrics
1. To access MarketLine Industry Profiles, go to the left hand side of the industry page.
2. Click the Country/Region heading on the top of the table to sort reports by country.
4. Management consultancies
Management consultancies can be a source of technology information and application to business and in some cases specific industries.
Some suggested Management consultancies include:
Tip: Conduct a Google search for the name of the company and the technology and/or industry.
5. World Economic Forum
- World Economic ForumThe World Economic Forum has content on specific technologies and impacts on business and society as well as indusry specific sections. Accenture is a partner of the World Economic Forum.
6. Key business magazines
Business magazines are a great way to get insight into the latest business trends and challenges.
- Harvard Business ReviewHBR provides insights on strategy, innovation, management and leadership and is a key business tool.
Using Harvard Business Review
It is recommended to access the Harvard Business Review journal through the Business Source Ultimate database.
To search for articles on specific topics within the journal, click the 'Search within this publication' link and on the search page, enter the title or keywords starting from the second row.
Note: Leave the first row as it is.
7. Key databases
Databases are online collections of resources that include journal articles, conference papers, books, chapters, and reports. They include advanced search options that help you to focus your search and find relevant, scholarly references quickly.
- IEEEXploreProvides access to publications in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. It also include articles and information on technology applications in Business.
- ProQuest One BusinessContains business-focused content- including articles, case studies, and industry reports.
- Business Source UltimateCovers all areas of business, including industry reports and peer reviewed articles on challenges and opportunities within business.
Tip: Read the help sections provided by the databases for tips on how to tailor your search.
Business Source Ultimate
Example of an Advanced Search in the database:
In the results page, you can then limit your search to full-text, peer reviewed (scholarly journals) and can filter by publication date.
8. Google Scholar
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than across the whole internet like a regular Google Search.
Make sure you access Google Scholar from the Library website. You will then be able to link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Watch the video below to find out more:
9. Industry in the news
Technology is constantly evolving. Searching the latest news and developments can provide insights into the current and potential opportunities within an industry.
- News Media GuideSee the News Media Guide for a full list of relevant databases that provide access to Australian and international news media.
How to Search in NewsBank
How to search in NewsBank:
- Below is an example search on the automotive industry.
- Add your concepts or search terms into the search box and select Search.
- Newest articles are displayed first as a default.
- You can also refine your results by limiting the Source location > Australia.
You can also browse news media articles by using the 'Suggested Topics' on the homepage of NewsBank. To do this:
- Choose a suggested topic, e.g. Technology
- Then select one of the sub-topics within this area, e.g. Information Technology > Artificial Intelligence
- You can refine your results by applying filters such as date, e.g. 2022-2024
- NewsBankConsolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles and other publications. It helps to pinpoint information from primary sources at the local, state, regional, national, and international levels.
- TVNewsIndexes Australian television news, current affairs, and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to digitised video content in a compressed format that is searchable and accessible.
- IET.tvOne of the largest collated resources of authoritative and multidisciplinary engineering and technology content (i.e., presentation, lecture and training videos) which offers research insight, workflow solutions, and access to inspirational events and expert communities.
10. Writing reports
Once you have all your information it is time to put everything together. This video on report writing (2 min 53 sec) will give you some tips:
- Study help: Writing reportsStudy Help is an online hub packed with study resources, including instructions for writing reports and report examples.
11. Recording video
For assessment 2 you need to record a 5-7 minute video with you presenting onscreen as picture-in-picture . Refer to your course site for full assessment instructions.
These resources can help you with creating and recording your video:
- Panopto screen captureRead this to learn how to record your screen using a webcam. This includes a picture-in-picture option.
- Record a PowerPoint presentationWatch the video and follow the written instructions for recording your PowerPoint presentation.
- Microsoft PowerPoint helpUse this handy reference page to get assistance on troubleshooting PowerPoint issues, or improve your slide deck.
- Being Confident on Camera - LinkedIn Learning (Video, 24 min)Note: You must be logged in to access this resource.
- Oral presentations - Student Engagement Unit UniSAFor more tips on oral presentations, visit the SEU Study Help Hub.
12. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteResources on different referencing styles. Find examples of in-text citations and references for diverse formats including articles, books and book chapters, websites and more.
Note: Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the referencing style required for your course.
Managing your references
What do you do with all those references you have found? Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references.
There are many free systems available. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. For more information see the EndNote guide.
13. Rate this resource
Please respond to the below statement to give feedback on this guide: