1. Assessment 3: Report
|
For Assessment Three you will need to research a supplied situation and present the findings in the form of a report. Please see your course outline and learnonline site for the full assessment details and for the report format. This assignment help has been created to assist you in finding academic references to support your report. |
2. Plan your search
Before you start searching you should:
- Identify the main concepts within your topic or question
- Think of alternative words or synonyms you could also search for
Watch this video (2 min 26 sec) to understand planning a search.
Using a mindmap or table can help you brainstorm and organise the concepts and ideas you may want to explore in your searching.
Here is an example table:
| Concepts | Synonyms or alternative keywords |
|
"service management" |
|
| "service model" |
|
|
"automated technology" |
|
| "fast food" |
|
| "service process design" |
|
| "resource planning models" |
|
| service technologies |
|
| servicescape |
|
| "service quality" |
|
| "service capacity" |
|
| "service performance" |
|
This table is not comprehensive. Once you start searching you may come across more keywords, so you can edit your search to include or exclude some terms.
Learn more about searching:
What are academic references?
| You need to cite a minimum of SIX (6) academic references with at least THREE (3) from academic (peer reviewed/scholarly/refereed) journal articles. |
APA 7th is the referencing style for this assignment.
Academic references can be referred to scholarly sources or peer reviewed (refereed). These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other academic sources.
Wikipedia, Lecture slides, YouTube, ChatGPT or other non-academic websites are NOT considered academic sources.
To find out more about academic sources look at the resources below:
- Find scholarly sourcesThis document will show you how to identify and find scholarly and peer reviewed articles.
- Study Help: Scholarly sources explainedWatch this video (2 min 22 sec) to learn about why scholarly sources are important to use for your assignments, and how you can identify them.
3. Find academic references
The Library Collection is a useful starting point in locating academic sources.
An example search in the library collection:
You can refine the results of your search. From the results page, on the left-hand menu, use the Refine my results options to narrow your search. Options include:
- Peer-Reviewed Journals (select this option for scholarly articles)
- Publication Date (You may want to select a specific date range. E.g.: 2017 to 2023
- Full text online (select this option to only include results that return the full article, and not just an abstract)
Searching tips
- Use quotations marks to keep words together as a phrase. E.g.: "fast food"
- Use AND (it must be typed in upper case) to connect all the concepts. This will narrow your search results.
- Use OR (typed in upper case) to connect alternative keywords within a concept. This will widen your search results.
- Group keywords within similar concepts together by enclosing them in brackets (or parenthesis) when using a single search box. E.g.: (ethic OR moral)
To learn more, explore the following resources:
- How to search the Library CollectionWatch this video (1 min 48 sec) to learn about searching the Library Collection.
Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from the library website, you can see articles that the library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
Click on the Google Scholar tab and enter your search terms into the search box. Here is an example of a search:
On the results page, you can filter your results from the left-hand menu.
Watch the video: Why use Google Scholar? (2 min 13 sec) to find out more.
Business Source Ultimate is a database covering all aspects of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.
Try searching using different variations of your concepts and keywords until you find relevant results.
An example search in Business Source Ultimate:
Searching tips:
- Place your second concept in a separate search box. E.g.: QSR OR "fast food"
- On the results page, use Limit To on the left hand side to select peer reviewed journals. You can also filter by publication date or source type.
The Emerald: Insight database covers subjects including management, human resources management, and marketing. You can search through books, journals, and book series volumes. All content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.
From the Emerald: Insight home page, select Advanced search (underneath the search box in the middle of the page).
The Advanced search page will appear. Select Journal articles to view peer reviewed articles. You can add more rows to your search to add other search terms, and you can modify your searches by selecting a date range.
See below for an example search:
Search tip:
- Enter your second concept in a separate search box. E.g.: QSR OR "fast food"
4. How to write a report
Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together.
Watch this video (2 min 53 sec) on report writing.
- Reports - Study HelpView a report writing overview, useful tips and see report writing examples
5. Referencing support
- Referencing websiteHelp with various referencing styles. Find in-text citations and reference examples from different sources such as articles, books and chapters, websites and more.
Always check your Course Outline or LearnOnline site for the citation style required for your course.