Business: BUSS 2065: Operations Management for Business - CO3: Report (Critical Review)

Assignment Help

1. CO3: Report (Critical Review)

 This assessment requires you to critically review the factors affecting capacity management of either a manufacturing organisation or a service firm. Then select one of the three options given in your course outline.

This assignment help will assist you to find academic references to support your report.

   Please see your course outline and course site for full assessment details.

2. Plan your search

Before you start searching you should:

  • Identify the main concepts within your topic or question
  • Think of alternative words or synonyms you could also search for

Using a mindmap or table can help you brainstorm and organise the concepts and ideas you may want to explore in your searching.

Here is an example table: 

Concept Synonyms or alternative concepts 

manufacturing organisation

service firm

  • manufacturers
  • legal service
  • financial service
capacity management
  • operations management
traditional business
  • brick-and-mortar business
online business
  • e-commerce

This table is not comprehensive. Once you start searching you may come across more keywords.

To learn more about planning your search please look at the below resources

3. What are academic sources?

You have been asked to find academic references for each case study response including scholarly (peer reviewed) journal articles. 

Academic sources can be referred to scholarly sources or peer reviewed (refereed). These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other sources.

To find out more about academic sources look at the below resources

Tip: When searching in the library catalogue you can filter your results to show only 'peer reviewed'

4. Find academic references

The Library Catalogue can be a useful starting point in locating academic references. To do a search, try using

double quotes for phrases

truncation* to find the plural and other forms of a word

An example search in the library catalogue

At the results list you can:

Refine search to Peer Reviewed for academic references

Refine by Date eg 2012 to 2018

See the full text for many items by selecting the title, then look for the Online link

Try Google Scholar to find scholarly material. An advantage of Google Scholar is that it provides access to the full text of many UniSA scholarly/academic articles if you connect to it via the link above, or from the Library home page

The Advanced search option gives more flexibility when you search (note you will have to click on the hamburger menu  then select Advanced search).

Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content.

Try searching using different variations of your concepts and keywords until you find relevant results.

See below for an example of a search:

Emerald: insight is an excellent source of management and business information. All content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.

use the advanced search option

narrow your search by date range

See below for an example search

5. How to write a report

Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) and look at the resources below for tips on how to write reports and critical reviews. Visit Study Help for more on improving your academic skills.

6. Referencing Support

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Referencing Roadmap (Harvard)
Help with the Harvard UniSA referencing style. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing hub
    Information around what is referencing, paraphrasing, referencing rules, referencing styles and Academic Integrity. Also includes a link to the Harvard Referencing Guide UniSA (pdf).
     
  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).

What do you do with all those references you have found?

Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.