Business: BUSS 2065: Operations Management for Business - CO3: Case study answers

Assignment Help

1. CO3: Case study answers

CO3 requires you to answer all the questions for a case scenario. This assignment help has been created to assist you in finding academic references to support your responses. 

Please see your course outline and course site for the full assessment details, case study and questions. 

2. What is a case study?

Watch the video below for an overview of case studies (4 min):

 Find more information and tips on case studies here.

3. Plan your search

Before you start searching you should:

  • Identify the main concepts within your topic or question
  • Think of alternative words or synonyms you could also search for

Using a mindmap or table can help you brainstorm and organise the concepts and ideas you may want to explore in your searching.

Below is an example of a table using some possible concepts from your case study.

Case Study Key concepts
Sample One operations strategies, reshoring
Sample Two facility location, manufacturing companies
Sample Three capacity planning, dynamic change
Sample Four inventory management approaches, centralised and decentralised inventory

To learn more about planning your search please look at the below resources

4. What are academic sources?

You have been asked to use a minimum of THREE academic references, including TWO academic journal articles (peer-reviewed). 

Academic sources can be referred to scholarly sources or peer-reviewed (refereed). These can include journal articles, books, book chapters, reports and other sources.

To find out more about academic sources look at the resources below:

Tip: When searching in the library catalogue you can filter your results to show only 'peer reviewed'.

5. Find academic references

The Library Collection can be a useful starting point in locating academic sources

An example search in the library collection

Use Refine my results: on the left-hand side to refine search by:

  •  Peer-Reviewed 
  •  Date eg 2017 to 2022 
  •  Full text online 

Tip: Use quotations marks to keep phrases together

Google Scholar is also a good place to search to find scholarly material. An advantage of Google Scholar is that it provides access to the full text of many UniSA scholarly/academic articles if you connect to it via the link above, or from the Library home page

Tip: The Advanced search option gives more flexibility when you search (note you will have to click on the hamburger menu  then select Advanced search).

 

Business Source Ultimate is the world's definitive scholarly business database, covering all things business. 

An example search in Business Source Ultimate:

Tip: Use Limit To on the left hand side to select peer-reviewed journals and select publication date

Emerald: insight is an excellent source of management and business information. All content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.

  • use the advanced search option
  • narrow your search by date range

See an example search below using the advanced search option in Emerald Insight: 

 

6. Write your report

Now that you have done your research it is time to put all of your information together.

Study Help is an online hub packed with resources to help with assignments and study skills. Watch the below short video on report writing

7. Referencing Support

Referencing website
Help with various referencing styles. Find in text-citations and reference examples, from different sources such as articles, books & chapters, websites, and more.

Other referencing support tools:

  • Referencing forum
    Discuss referencing, exchange advice and post questions and answers about referencing (facilitated by Student Engagement Unit).
  • What do you do with all those references you have found?

    Use a bibliographic management software to store, organise and cite your references. The Library supports the bibliographic management tool EndNote. There are also many free systems available.